Default Wayne's AMX project

I'm just getting started on my AMX project. A 1969 390, 4 speed. I found the car in Boise, Idaho and drove 800 miles to bring it home. A restoration was started and then abandoned many years ago. It's been stored in a garage for the last 15 years (thankfully). Over the years parts were scavenged for other projects. The car was in pieces when I bought it. It came with the seats and no other trim. All that was left of the engine was the block, heads, crank, oil pan, pistons and connecting rods. The original T-10 transmission was there but with no shifter or linkages. The body work was marginal at best, but the crappy paint job did serve to preserve it.

I'm planning a complete down to bare metal restoration on it and have recently started the disassembly. I removed the front clip and fenders a couple weeks ago. The troughs look good, but do show some evidence of repair on the drivers side. The rockers, trunk and floor pan are all solid.

The engine is at the shop getting ready for the re-build. Plans include for stroking it with SBC 6.25" connecting rods and SBC 400 pistons. With an offset grid to the crank it will be approximately 411 ci. Going to use an Eddy air-gap intake and Quickfuel 850 CFM carb. Undecided on the camshaft though. Looking for a strong street performer, but not too lumpy. Any suggestions?

I'm on a quest for parts and pieces. Anybody in the lower mainland of BC or in Washington or Oregon with spare parts, PM me and I'll send you a list.

I've waited a long time for this car, really excited to finally get the project underway.

Wayne Major

Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	WP_20150328_14_30_39_Smart.jpg 
Views:	914 
Size:	115.5 KB 
ID:	188   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	WP_20150404_11_17_03_Smart.jpg 
Views:	915 
Size:	155.1 KB 
ID:	189   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	WP_20150404_11_29_48_Smart.jpg 
Views:	658 
Size:	126.1 KB 
ID:	190