Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default six cylinder to V8 switch

Hi, I'm new to boards so, I'm not sure if this is in the right place but my situation is me and my dad are restoring a 73 Javelin for me and we purchased two for $1200 and the one is a six cylinder and the other is a 360 and since the six cylinder is a rust free body we want to use it but with the 360 from the other carcass so, we were wondering how much, if any, of the front suspension needs changed to accomadate the V8 into the sixcylinder car?
    thanks for any help you can give,
    Danny R.

I believe you'll need to swap the front springs, get new V-8 shocks, swap the sway bar and V-8 front cross member. Also the rear end and driveshaft, maybe the tranny crossmember too.

Thanks, I was beginning to think noone would answer.... ...is there a place where I can get the driveshaft? I have one but it's in absolutely horrid condition?

I think I'd look into having one made. It may be easier than trying to locate and ship one. At least that's another option. But if you want a used/original one for some reason you might want to contact American Parts Depot. If I remember right they are in Ohio.

yeah we're trying to get by as cheap as we can, like, get the basic components to have the car running and look good then mabey later upgrade some stuff like, I don't have a posi unit and probably won't until well and after I have been driving the car for awhile...a used one would probably be cheaper right?...

Yes if you find it local. Like BBA said shipping and cost of used one prolly cost more than having one made. IMHO

If the Javelin with the 360 is an SST it should have a Dana posi in it. It would probably have a 2:87 stock rear gear with a 140 mph speedo, right? I'm sure about a 71 but not about the 73.

...it has the ralley pack gauges, the 360 and 2.87 gears but I don't think it's a posi?... it doesn't have any trim that says SST?