Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default AMX engine components

Hi all, another noob here. I am restoring my 69 AMX that I have had for about 20 years. I have been working on it on and off for the past few years and am ready to start on the engine. I want to use the later model dogleg port heads on the 69 390 block and would like to know what machine work is involved in doing this. I have a set of heads, but don't know the specs on them or what engine they came from. I dry fitted them this afternoon just to see how close everything lined up and they seem to look OK except that the front and rear seal gap btwn the intake manifold and block looks a little wide. The locating bushings are a different size too, apparently for the later model 1/2" head bolts but that is manageable. I was told once that the deck height was different on 70 and up engines but don't have any real data to go on. What needs to be done to the heads or block if anything?

Barron

Hi Barron and welcome!

The 1969 and prior V-8 head bolts are 7/16", 1970 and later are 1/2".

What you'll need to install the dogleg heads on your '69 390 is four "step-dowels". You can buy these from American Performance Products in Florida (do a Google, I don't have their # handy or try your favorite AMC vendor). Then you'll want to buy a new set of head gaskets for the 1970-up AMC 401 V-8. Copper Coat one side and drop the heads onto your 1969 390 block and torque them to 105 lbs/feet. There is no machining needed to do this, it is a simple drop-on. The deck height differences between the earlier and later V-8 blocks are in the block, not the heads.

Be certain to use a 1970 and later intake manifold - whether it's an aftermarket or stock. There is a slightly different bolt pattern (center holes only) between the intake holes on a 1969 and prior head and intake and the 1970 and later. Don't hog out the holes on the 1969 and prior intakes.